Doctoral Programs (PhD)

The SAIACS doctoral degrees, the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) and Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) have two components: 
(a) the Pre-Doctoral Programme (PDP) and (b) Candidacy, which entails thesis writing.

Doctor of Philosophy, PhD

SAIACS offers PhD study in seven specializations: Old Testament, New Testament, Theology and Ethics, Missiology, Study of Religions, History of Christianity (not on offer for 2017-18) and Pastoral Theology & Counselling. This programme will qualify students for postgraduate level academic specialist teaching. Applicants need the capacity for independent research, must possess cogent analytical skills and have competence in communicating their findings through publishable writing or teaching.

The PhD program is accredited by ATA. The student can opt instead for the University of Mysore accreditation. For more details for the degree via the University of Mysore, please contact the academic office.

A student can take between three to five years of full-time residential study (after the PDP) to complete this degree.

Entry requirements

»» MTh with high second class (minimum 55%; B+ average) or equivalent.
»» High competency in oral, aural, and written English.
»» Tested competency in one or more research languages as relevant to the area of specialization.

For more details on entry requirements, as well as for further details about the program, please consult the latest SAIACS Prospectus.